The North Almaguin Planning Board

is delegated the authority to consider Consents under Section 53 of the Planning Act, R.S.O. 1990, CHAPTER P.13 on lands located in these 8 geographic areas.

The Consent process is used to:

- create a new lot,

- re-establish an original 100 acre (40 ha) lot or registered parcel of land,

- create a parcel to convey to an abutting parcel as a lot addition;

- establish and register an easement (right-of-way over land);

- apply a charge (mortgage) over a portion of a property;

- enter into a lease over part of a property when the term of the lease total 21 years or more, inclusive of renewal options.

The North Almaguin Planning Board also approves plans of subdivision under Section 51 or process a Validation of Title under Section 57 of the Planning Act, R.S.O. 1990, CHAPTER P.13 on land located in the Municipality of Powassan.


This Board has been in operation since 1981, then known as the Himsworth South, Nipissing, Powassan, Trout Creek Planning Board. The name was changed to the North Almaguin Planning Board in 2001 under Section 9 of the Planning Act R.S.O. 1990, c.P.13  and its jurisdiction revised to include the unincorporated townships of East Mills, Hardy, McConkey, Patterson, Pringle and Wilson. The jurisdiction of this Board was again revised on the 1st September 2020 to extract the Townsip of Nipissing.