

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dean Gates assumed Chairmanship and called this special telecom meeting to order at approximately 8:39am. At approximately 9:19am upon the exit of Dean Gates from this meeting, John Borlase assumed Chairmanship for the remainder of the agenda.

2. MEMBERS PRESENT (alphabetically)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON	John Borlase	(Unincorporated Townships, Ministry Appointee)
SECRETARY-TREASURER	Dave Britton	(Councillor Powassan)
CHAIRPERSON	Dean Gates (vacated 9:18am)	(Unincorporated Townships, Ministry Appointee)
VICE SECRETARY-TREASURER	Randy Hall	(Councillor Powassan)

MEMBERS ABSENT

DIRECTOR

Roger Glabb

(Powassan Citizen appointee)

OTHERS PRESENT

Karin Ann Brent – Administrative Director

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

On a verbal motion moved by John Borlase and seconded by Dave Britton, the agenda was adopted as amended to add a Closed Session.

RECORDED VOTE					
MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY			
BORLASE	х				
BRITTON	х				
GATES	х				
GLABB	ABSENT	ABSENT			
HALL	Х				

4. DISCLOSURE OF DIRECT OR INDIRECT PECUNIARY INTERST AND GENERAL NATURE THEREOF - Nil

CLOSED SESSION Pursuant to subsection 239 (1) 3.1) of the Municipal Act)

At approximately 8:44am the NAPBoard resolved into a Closed Session.

RESOLUTION 73-2023Moved by John BorlaseSeconded by Dave BrittonTHAT pursuant to subsection 239 (1) (3.1), the NAPBoard at its meeting on 5 October 2023 resolve into a ClosedSession to consider:

Item (b): matter(s) about identifiable individual(s)

Item (k): matter(s) about criteria or instruction to be applied to any negotiation of the board. CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

NECONDED VOIE		
MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	Х	
BRITTON	х	
GATES	Х	
GLABB	ABSENT	ABSENT
HALL	Х	



MINUTES Thursday 2 November 2023

(2)

On a verbal motion put by Dave Britton and seconded by Randy Hall, at approximately 9:15am the NAPBoard returned to Open Session.

At approximately 9:18am Dean Gates vacated this meeting John Borlase assumed Chairmanship for the remainder of this meeting.

5. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>

1. <u>Authorization to Execute 2023/24 MMAH Funding Agreement for NAPBoard Unincorporated Twps</u>

MMAH North (Sudbury) emailed the funding agreement for provincial funding for its fiscal year 2023/24, to offset the cost of operating the NAPBoard to provide planning services for the unincorporated townships of East Mills, Hardy, McConkey, Patterson, Pringle and Wilson. The draft agreement was circulated to the NAPBoard Members by email on 30 October 2023 to allow them to review it.

A Resolution of the NAPBoard is required to authorize the NAPBoard Chairperson and Secretary-Treasurer (or the vice chair or vice-secretary-treasurer) to sign the funding agreement on behalf of the NAPBoard. The agreement must be returned by 17 November 2023.

RESOLUTION 74-2023 Moved by Dave Britton Seconded by John Borlase

WHEREAS the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing emailed on 30 October 2023, a letter relaying the Ontario Transfer Payment Agreement between His Majesty the King in right of Ontario as represented by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing and the North Almaguin Planning Board for a grant of \$23,597.00 to fund the delivery of planning services in the unincorporated townships of East Mills, Hardy, McConkey, Patterson, Pringle and Wilson for the term of 1st April 2023 through 31st March 2024;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the NAPBoard hereby formally accepts the offer of that funding grant;

AND THAT the NAPBoard Chairperson (or Vice-Chairperson) and Secretary-Treasurer (or Vice Secretary-Treasurer) are hereby authorized to execute the Transfer Payment Agreement for the 2023/24 fiscal year grant to offset the expenses to the NAPBoard for its provision of planning services to the unincorporated townships of East Mills, Hardy, McConkey, Patterson, Pringle and Wilson.

CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	Х	
BRITTON	х	
GATES	ABSENT	ABSENT
GLABB	ABSENT	ABSENT
HALL	х	



MINUTES Thursday 2 November 2023 Adopted as Circulated Resolution 76-2023 29Nov2023

(3)

RESOLUTION 75-2023 Moved by Dave Britton

Seconded by Randy Hall

THAT staff is hereby directed to include line items in the draft budget to be presented at its meeting scheduled for 29 November 2023, for the NAPBoard operating year of 2024, to undertake Request for Proposals for:

- 1) and GIS mapping system for the unincorporated townships of East Mills, Hardy, McConkey, Patterson, Pringle and Wilson; and
- 2) the formulation of a draft Official Plan for the unincorporated townships of East Mills, Hardy, McConkey, Patterson, Pringle and Wilson, for presentation to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing for review and approval.

AND THAT the 2024 operating budget be formulated with:

- a) increase in rate of honorariums for the NAPBoard Members to address inflation and circumstantial aspects of dealing with complex enquiries and Consent applications on land in the unincorporated townships and the Municipality of Powassan;
- b) increase in rate of remuneration of administrative staff to address inflation and circumstantial aspects of dealing with complex enquiries and Consent applications on land in the unincorporated townships without benefit of a professional planner, and the intricacies of providing planning services for processing Consent applications for lands located in the Municipality of Powassan.

CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	х	
BRITTON	х	
GATES	ABSENT	ABSENT
GLABB	ABSENT	ABSENT
HALL	Х	

6. ADJOURNMENT - 9:23am

"John Borlase"

"Dave Britton"

VICE-CHAIRPERSON John Borlase

SECRETARY-TREASURER Dave Britton