

MINUTES Friday 24 January 2025

ADOPTED 30 January 2025
Resolution 2-2025

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dean Gates assumed Chairmanship and called this special telecom meeting to order at approximately 8:04am.

The following was read aloud:

LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT "We respectfully acknowledge that we are on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe Peoples, in the Robinson-Huron and Williams Treaties areas. We wish to acknowledge the long history of First Nations and Métis Peoples in Ontario and show respect to the neighbouring Indigenous communities. We offer our gratitude for their care of, and teachings about, our earth and our relations. May we continue to honour these teachings."

2. MEMBERS PRESENT (alphabetically)

VICE CHAIRPERSON John Borlase (Unincorporated Townships, Ministry Appointee)

SECRETARY-TREASURER Dave Britton (arrived 8:06am) (Councillor Powassan)

CHAIRPERSON Dean Gates (Unincorporated Townships, Ministry Appointee)

DIRECTOR Roger Glabb (Powassan Citizen appointee)

VICE SECRETARY-TREASURER Randy Hall (Councillor Powassan)

MEMBERS ABSENT - Nil

OTHERS PRESENT

Ed Veldboom of Russell Christie, LLP – Solicitor for the NAPBoard Karin Ann Brent – NAPB Administrative Director

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

On a verbal motion by Roger Glabb, seconded by John Borlase, the agenda for this meeting was adopted as presented.

CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	Х	
BRITTON	Х	
GATES	Х	
GLABB	Х	
HALL	Х	

4. DISCLOSURE OF DIRECT OR INDIRECT PECUNIARY INTERST AND GENERAL NATURE THEREOF - Nil

5. CLOSED SESSION(Pursuant to subsection 239 (1) 3.1) of the Municipal Act)

Subsection 239 (1):

Item (b): matter(s) about identifiable individual(s);

and/or

Item (e): litigation or potential litigation, including matters before administrative tribunals, affecting the municipality or local board;

and/or

Item (k): matter(s) about criteria or instruction to be applied to any negotiation of the board.

Phone: 705-724-6758 Email: northalmaguinplanningboard2018@gmail.com Website: https://napb.ca



MINUTES Friday 24 January 2025

ADOPTED 30 January 2025 Resolution 2-2025

(2)

RESOLUTION 1-2025 Moved by John Borlase

Seconded by Roger Glabb

THAT pursuant to subsection 239 (1) (2) (3.1), the NAPBoard at its special telecom meeting on 24 January 2025 resolve into a Closed Session to consider:

Item (b): matter(s) about identifiable individual(s);

and/or

Item (e): litigation or potential litigation, including matters before administrative tribunals, affecting the municipality or local board;

and/or

Item (k): matter(s) about criteria or instruction to be applied to any negotiation of the board.

CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	Х	
BRITTON		X
GATES	Х	
GLABB	Х	
HALL	Х	

In Closed Session, the NAPBoard gave verbal direction to Ed Veldboom to respond to the appellants and their agent regarding the appeal of B26/MCCONKEY/2023 (OLT-24-00011).

On a verbal motion by Roger Glabb, Seconded by John Borlase, the NAPBoard moved back into Open Session. CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	X	
BRITTON	Х	
GATES	X	
GLABB	X	
HALL	X	

6. ADJOURNMENT - 8:38am

CHAIRPERSON Dean Gates	SECRETARY-TREASURER Dave Britton

NORTH ALMAGUIN PLANNING BOARD P.O. Box 57 Powassan ON P0H 1Z0