

MINUTES Special Telecom Meeting Wednesday 9 April 2025

Adopted 19 June 2025 Resolution 27-2025

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dean Gates assumed Chairmanship and called this Telecom meeting to order at approximately 9:03am.

<u>LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT</u> "We respectfully acknowledge that we are on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe Peoples, in the Robinson-Huron and Williams Treaties areas. We wish to acknowledge the long history of First Nations and Métis Peoples in Ontario and show respect to the neighbouring Indigenous communities. We offer our gratitude for their care of, and teachings about, our earth and our relations. May we continue to honour these teachings."

2. MEMBERS PRESENT (alphabetically)

VICE CHAIRPERSON John Borlase (Unincorporated Townships, Ministry Appointee)

SECRETARY-TREASURER Dave Britton (Councillor Powassan)

CHAIRPERSON Dean Gates (Unincorporated Townships, Ministry Appointee)

VICE SECRETARY-TREASURER Randy Hall (Councillor Powassan)

MEMBERS ABSENT

DIRECTOR Roger Glabb (Powassan Citizen appointee)

OTHERS PRESENT

Karin Ann Brent - NAPB Administrative Director

Ed Veldboom, Solicitor with Russell, Christie, LLP

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

On a VERBAL MOTION moved by John Borlase, seconded by Randy Hall, the agenda was adopted as circulated. CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	Х	
BRITTON	Х	
GATES	Х	
GLABB	ABSENT	ABSENT
HALL	Х	

4. DISCLOSURE OF DIRECT OR INDIRECT PECUNIARY INTERST AND GENERAL NATURE THEREOF - Nil

5. CLOSED SESSION(Pursuant to subsection 239 (1) 3.1) of the Municipal Act)

At approximately 9:05am, the NAPBoard moved into a Closed Session pursuant to Subsection 239 (1): Item (e): litigation or potential litigation, including matters before administrative tribunals, affecting the municipality or local board.

Phone: 705-724-6758 Email: northalmaguinplanningboard2018@gmail.com Website: https://napb.ca



MINUTES Special Telecom Meeting Wednesday 9 April 2025

Adopted 19 June 2025 Resolution 27-2025

(2)

(5.)

RESOLUTION 26-2025 Moved by Dean Gates Seconded by Dave Britton
THAT pursuant to subsection 239(1) and 239(2) of the *Municipal Act*, the NAPBoard at its special telecom meeting held 9 April 2025 resolve into a Closed Session to consider:

239 (2) Item (e): litigation or potential litigation, including matters before administrative tribunals, affecting the municipality or local board.

CARRIED

RECORDED VOTE

MEMBER NAME	YEAH	NAY
BORLASE	Х	
BRITTON	X	
GATES	Х	
GLABB	ABSENT	ABSENT
HALL	Х	

Solicitor Ed Veldboom of Russell Christie LLP, updated the NAPBoard on the status of the appeal of its Decision issued on Consent application B26/MC CONKEY/2023.

Confidential direction was issued to Ed Veldboom as the Solicitor representing the NAPBoard in its defence of the subject appeal.

At approximately 9:38am, on a verbal motion, moved by Dean Gates and seconded by John Borlase, this meeting moved out of Closed Session and adjourned.

6. ADJOURNMENT – 9:39am

[*Chairperson Dean Gates resigned prior to adoption of these Minutes)

"John Borlase"	"Dave Britton"	
*Vice-Chairperson John Borlase	Secretary-Treasurer Dave Britton	

Phone: 705-724-6758 Email: northalmaguinplanningboard2018@gmail.com Website: https://napb.ca